VIP Tour with Emma Rice Thurs 30th May 10:30am

VIP Tour with Emma Rice Thurs 30th May 10:30am


A very special tour to celebrate English Week.

Enjoy a tour of our modern winery hosted by Hattingley Valley Wines owner Simon Robinson

Add To Cart

Emma will introduce you to her range of award winning Hattingley Valley Sparkling wines and will explain why the Hampshire chalky soils and climate have a direct influence on Hampshire wine styles. This will be followed by an in-depth tour of our state of the art winery where Emma will explain the traditional method of producing our Sparkling Wines. There will also be the opportunity to taste tank samples with Emma on your journey through the winery. The tour will conclude with a tutored tasting with Emma from our core range of Sparkling Wines including our recently released 2013 Hattingley Valley Blanc de Blancs. There will also be the opportunity to purchase our wines at cellar door pricing.

Booking is essential as spaces are limited to 16 guests.

Emma Rice

Emma studied viticulture and oenology at Plumpton College. During these studies she continued to work freelance as a wine editor, in various independent wine retail shops in Brighton, and also at Nyetimber Vineyard under its former owner.  After graduating she went to Napa Valley in California for the harvest and ended up staying nearly two years as oenologist and laboratory manager. Following this she did a cool climate vintage at Tamar Ridge in Tasmania before moving back to the UK and setting up Custom Crush UK Ltd – a wine analysis laboratory and consultancy, through which she met Simon Robinson as he was setting up Hattingley Valley. And so began the next stage of her illustrious career. 

Today, Emma’s role as Head Winemaker at Hattingley Valley is varied, including overseeing the development of our own and partner vineyards. As a director of Hattingley she is involved in all major decisions for the running of the business. Emma is the first female winemaker to have been twice-awarded the UKVA Winemaker of the Year trophy, in 2014 and again in 2016.